European Squash Team Championships

European Squash Team Championships

Published on Sunday, May 3, 2015

La France championne d'Europe pour la 1re fois de son histoire



Men's: England 1-2 France
Peter Barker 1-3 Grégory Gaultier
10/12, 8/11, 12/10, 3/11
Daryl Selby 1-3 Mathieu Castagnet
11/6, 9/11, 4/11, 12/14

James Willstrop 3-2 Grégoire Marche
11/5, 7/11, 6/11, 11/8, 11/8

Chris Simpson 1-1 Lucas Serme
11/5, 7/11 match stopped


3 May 2015 - Finals Day: 
England's women retain title 
but it's a first win for the French men

It was a dramatic finals day in Denmark, and a historic one as France became the men's champions for the first time ever, having lost to England in the final 15 times in the last 16 years!

Both finals were England v France, a repeat of last year, and in the women's final it was England who prevailed to make it five wins in a row and 37 in total (out of 38). Sarah-Jane Perry put England ahead, Camille Serme brought France level and it was Emma Beddoes who won the decider for the English.

In the men's final, played in 1-2-3-4 order, Gregory Gaultier gave the French a great start as he beat Peter Barker 3-1, Barker saving a match ball in the third. Mathieu Castagnet put France two-nil up as he beat Daryl Selby who needed a 30-minute injury break after the second game 3-1.

When Greg Marche led James Willstrop 2-1 and 4-0 it looked all over for England, but Willstrop fought back to win 3-2 and extend the match. 

Chris Simpson needed to win 3-0 to give England any chance of retaining the title - even then it would only have been on points countback (England needed a result better than 11/7, 11/7, 11/7). 

Simpson took the first but Lucas Serme stormed ahead in the second, led 10-5 and took the match on his third opportunity to the delight of the French contingent.

The match ended there as Serme was held aloft and the French celebrations began ...